SD College Access

The South Dakota College Access grant is a federally funded program that was first awarded to the Department of Education, Office of Indian Education through the South Dakota Governor’s Office in 2008, and then renewed in August 2010. The South Dakota College Access Challenge grant was designed to assist underrepresented K-12 students in their transition to postsecondary education.

The program’s three main goals are to:

1) Increase students’ and parents’ knowledge of postsecondary education options, preparation and financing

2) Increase the number of students who enroll in postsecondary education within one year of high school graduation

3) Increase counselor and mentor awareness and knowledge of financial aid and the college application and acceptance process

The South Dakota College Access Challenge provides financial awareness, career development, and postsecondary resources and support by developing relationships with students, families and school counselors/mentors.

A key element of the program is increasing the amount of grant aid to underrepresented students by assisting students and families as they navigate the Free Application for Federal Student Aid, or FAFSA, process. The program aims to reach out to school counselors and mentors through targeted awareness efforts in the areas of financial aid options and eligibility. The program provides assistance in application processes for both college and financial aid; college acceptance, orientation and registration procedures; and other available resources. The program goals will be accomplished through mentoring programs, grassroots efforts and family financial aid and college application assistance nights at participating target schools.

Partner Institutions:

Andes Central, Lake Andes Bennett County, Martin
Burke Cheyenne-Eagle Butte
Colome Consolidated Crazy Horse, Wanblee
Crow Creek, Stephan Dupree
Faith Flandreau BIE/td>
Flandreau Public Hill City/td>
Hot Springs Kadoka
Little Wound, Kyle Lower Brule
Lyman County, Presho Marty Indian School
McIntosh McLaughlin
Mobridge-Pollock Oelrichs
Pierre Pine Ridge
Rapid City Academy Rapid City Central
Rapid City Stevens Red Cloud, Pine Ridge
Sisseton Sioux Falls
South Central Coop., Tyndall St. Francis Indian School
Stanley County, Ft. Pierre Takini
Tiospaye Topa Tiospaya Zina
Todd County, Mission Wakpala
Waubay White River

Black Hills State University Dakota State University
Northern State University South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
South Dakota State University University of South Dakota

Sitting Bull College Sisseton-Wahpeton College
Sinte Gleska University Oglala Lakota College

Lake Area Technical Institute Mitchell Technical Institute
Western Dakota Technical Institute Southeast Technical Institute

College Access Grant Resources:
SD College Access Fact Sheet


Mark Gageby, (605) 773-3727

South Dakota Department of Education
800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501